Austin Startups – Austin’s Startup Ecosystem

The below list is, in my opinion, the core of Austin’s startup ecosystem.  Any Austin founder building a startup with the intent of seeking venture capital would be well-advised to familiarize him/herself with these people and organizations.  Please feel free to suggest additions via the comments.

Incubators – Accelerators

Capital Factory – http://capitalfactory.com

Techstars Austin – http://www.techstars.com

TechRanch – http://techranchaustin.com

Longhorn Startup (Students) – http://www.1semesterstartup.com

SKU (consumer products)- http://sku.is

Austin Technology Incubator (ATI) – http://ati.utexas.edu

Texas Venture Labs – http://www.mccombs.utexas.edu/Centers/Texas-Venture-Labs/

3-Day Startup (Students) – http://austin.3daystartup.org

Texas Medical Accelerator – http://www.txmda.com

Galvanize – https://www.galvanize.com/austin

Meet other Entrepreneurs – Find a Cofounder

Open Coffee for Entrepreneurs – http://opencoffeeaustin.org

Austin Hardware Startup Meetup – http://www.meetup.com/Austin-Hardware-Startup/

Austin Fintech Meetup – http://www.meetup.com/Austin-Fintech/

Talkabot ATX – https://www.meetup.com/Talkabot-ATX/

Austin Health Tech Meetup – http://www.meetup.com/Austin-Health-Tech

Austin Tech Happy Hour – https://www.facebook.com/austintechhh

Barcode (CPG Startups) – http://www.barcodestartup.com/workshop/ 

VR Austin Meetup – https://www.meetup.com/VRAustin/

Austin Data – https://www.meetup.com/austindata/

Publications – Blogs

SiliconHills News – http://www.siliconhillsnews.com  –  @SiliconHillsNew

Austin Business Journal (ABJ) – http://www.bizjournals.com/austin

Brett Hurt’s blog – http://lucky7.io

Austin Startup List – http://www.austinstartuplist.com

Gordon Daugherty’s Blog – http://shockwaveinnovations.com 

Jason Cohen’s Blog – A Smart Bear – http://blog.asmartbear.com 

Austin Inno – http://austininno.streetwise.co

Texas Squared Newsletter – http://www.tsquaredagency.com/#texas-squared-newsletter

Venture Capitalists – Angel Investors

See: Texas Startup Investors

Service Providers for Startups

vcfo (financial) – http://www.vcfo.com/company/locations/austin

Holtzman Partners (accounting) – http://www.holtzmanpartners.com

Maxwell Locke and Ritter (accounting) – http://www.mlrpc.com 

TriNet (HR, benefits) – http://www.trinet.com/

Hiscox (business insurance) – http://www.hiscoxusa.com/

Square1 Bank (banking) – https://www.square1financial.com

Silicon Valley Bank (banking) – http://www.svb.com

AngelSpan (investor relations) – http://angelspan.com

Scale Factor Partners (financial) – http://www.scalefactor.com

Other Info on Austin

We Are Austin Tech – http://www.weareaustintech.com

StartupDigest Austin Calendar – http://startupdigest.com/austin/

Influencers to Follow

@bobmetcalfe

@bazaarbrett

@seats

@damon

@joshuabaer

@joshkerr

@akalmans

@marc1919

@gordondaugherty