Houston’s Startup Ecosystem

While Texas’ center of gravity for startups is in the Silicon Hills of Central Texas, the startup ecosystem in Houston has been steadily developing; aided by the strong energy and healthcare sector.  These are publications, organizations, and other resources that anyone forming a Houston Startup would be wise to familiarize themselves with.  If you have suggestions for additions, please reach out to me on twitter or make a comment.

Incubators – Accelerators – Founder Programs

TMCx (Medical Center)

Rice Alliance

Houston Technology Center

OwlSpark (Rice Students)

RED Labs (UofH)

MD Anderson IC-Corps Program

Johnson & Johnson JLabs @ TMC

Meet other Entrepreneurs – Find a Cofounder

Startup Houston – http://startuphouston.com

Houston Startup Weekend – http://houston.startupweekend.org

Houston Lean Startup Circle – http://www.meetup.com/leanhouston/

Enventure – http://www.enventure.org (healthcare focused)

BioHouston – http://biohouston.org

Co-Working Spaces

Level Office – http://leveloffice.com

Start Houston – http://www.starthouston.com

Station Houston – http://stationhouston.com

Publications – Blogs

Houston Business Journals – Startup News – http://www.bizjournals.com/houston/topic/startups/

Houston Startup Resources List – Houston Lean Startup Circle

Venture Capitalists – Angel Investors

Mercury Fund – http://www.mercuryfund.com

Houston Angel Network (HAN) – http://www.houstonangelnetwork.org

Texas HALO Fund – http://texashalofund.com

AngelList – Houston Investors – https://angel.co/houston/investors

Also see the Austin page.  Austin VCs and Angels often invest in quality Houston startups.

Service Providers for Startups

See Austin page. 

Other Resources

PivotDesk – find a place to work on your startup.

Houston Startups – Facebook Group

Influencers to Follow

@marc1919

@texasvc

@bgarrou

@gracerodriguez

@johnreale

@houtechcenter

@StartupHouston

@mgbits

@starthouston

  • http://www.gracerodriguez.com Grace Rodriguez

    Thank you for including Station Houston and TMCx, and deep gratitude for the personal mention! I’m honored to be included among this great group of startup supporters.

    • José Ancer

      Absolutely. Great to see Houston’s startup ecosystem starting to coalesce around a solid network that isn’t controlled by suits and loafers.